Professor Ian Sommerville receives teaching awards

Professor Ian Sommerville has been honoured for his work in software engineering education.

The distinguished researcher has received the 2011 SIGSOFT Influential Educator award from the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) and the 2011 Outstanding Educator award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE).

The awards recognise Professor Sommerville’s work in developing software engineering education and in helping establish The Scottish Informatics and Computer Science Alliance Graduate Academy in Scotland.

Prof Ian Sommerville

See the official University of St Andrews press release for more information

Miller Prize for Joe Schaul

Computer Science student wins University prize for Science

One of our graduating students, Joe Schaul, has been awarded the University’s “Miller Prize”. The Prize is awarded to the best final-year undergraduate in the Science Faculty. As well has having an excellent academic record throughout his 4 years in the School, Joe also produced an exceptional undergraduate project. He developed a computer simulation framework for complex networks and applied it to two very different, real-world case studies: 1) the study of epidemics using a probabilistic model for various complex network topologies; and 2) the study of the effects of super-node crashes in Skype-like computer networks. The project was extremely challenging: it involved not only aspects related to the design, implementation and performance analysis of a scalable simulation tool for thousands of nodes, but it also required a very deep understanding of the problems related to the simulation of complex systems.

Well done, Joe!

St Andrews student wins undergraduate of the year award

Adam Copp, a Junior honours Computer Science student won the TARGET jobs IT and Computer Science Undergraduate of the Year Award for 2011. The award was sponsored by BT and, through a series of online tests, application forms, interviews and assessment exercises, Adam emerged as winner. BT only targeted a relatively small number of universities and so he beat off competition from other excellent students from other excellent universities.

Adam collecting the award from Michael Portillo (who hosted the awards) and Andy Skingley, Director of IP, Media and Mobility Platforms at BT.